Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Well, I at least studied for my AP Bio quiz tomorrow so I don't fail that class and start the quarter off terribly. I'm going to relax a little more this quarter as far as schoolwork goes. Now that I'm finding my niche with friends, I'm not nearly as stressed. it helps that I haven't had a ton of homework yet either.
I mean I have listened to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy for the billionth time this week...
I have done literally nothing tonight and I can't complain! Woohoo...

10/29/14

Today was kinda unique. We had the chastity speaker come in today. Overall it wasn't as bad as I had expected it to be, but there was still a LOT of stuff that I just don't agree with. All anyone could talk about for the rest of the day was this speaker.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Goodnight!

I'm starting to feel ill, so I'm calling it a night. Sleep tight!

10/28/14

Today, for once, was HIGHLY eventful. First, my friend is officially leaving the Catholic Church after the discussion we had in Morality class, then my friend had a seizure, then we had three fire drills because a student pulled the fire alarm twice immediately after the original fire drill. This is the first time in ages that somebody actually did that. I mean come ON, if you're in high school you shouldn't be pulling the fire alarm, that student needs to grow up.

Monday, October 27, 2014

500th Post!!!!!/Goodnight!!!!

Holy crap 500 posts... I can't believe I got here. I know its not much, especially in the time that I've had this blog, but it really does mean a lot. This has been something I've been able to stick with no matter what. Also, it's an incredible feeling knowing that someone somewhere in the world is looking at my blog and knows that I exist. That's really really phenomenal.

Goodnight, and thank you for being here for me.

Chicago Fun Shtuff

For some levity, my mom just told me that we're going to go to a Second City show! I'm really excited since I haven't been to improv in ages. I'm pretty excited about this trip. We're staying right in the shopping district in a pretty bombass hotel, and it's going to be fantastic!
It's beyond stupid. I'm gonna explode in religion class tomorrow. This is just complete and utter bullshit.

Ugggggggh religion class rant

So one of my homework assignments was to read and take notes on a chapter in my morality textbook on sexuality and sexual intimacy, and I have never been so infuriated in my life. The textbook is literally the vaguest, most ignorant piece of propaganda I've ever seen. This book simultaneously covers all the bases and leaves so many bases uncovered. Here's a little list of everything wrong here.

  • The wording is the shittiest thing. From calling genitalia "secret places" and "your special temple" to referring to everything under the sun as "wrong," it is beyond simplified for the average high school reader. Also, it's beyond awkward.
  • It's vague as can be. I shit you not, a sentence literally said "There is everything wrong with and nothing right in viewing pornographic images." THAT IS BEYOND VAGUE IT IS THE FARTHEST THING FROM SPECIFIC LIKE WHY IS IT SO WRONG, WHAT MAKES IT WRONG? WHAT IS GOING ON?!
  • It is absolutely wrong and implies some very wrong things. One passage on homosexuality stated that "MOST homosexuals do not freely choose their lifestyle," and I had absolutely had it. NO ONE CHOOSES TO STRAY FROM WHAT SOCIETY DEEMS THE NORMAL SEXUALITY. NOBODY CHOOSES TO FEAR THEIR FEELINGS, BE OSTRACIZED BY THEIR PEERS AND POTENTIALLY FAMILY, AND NOBODY CHOOSES TO BE TERRIFIED OF BEING WHO THEY ARE. THERE IS SO MUCH WRONG WITH THIS. 
  • Catholic School Sex-ed is the worst. It's all based on abstinence, and we don't learn anything else. Although it's true that abstinence is 100% effective, unless you're the Virgin Mary, teens are still going to have sex and it is important that they learn to do it in the safest way possible. Obviously, Catholic schools cannot support contraception, but for fuck's sake teach kids how to use it. Teens that go in without knowing what they're doing are going to be screwed when they put a condom on wrong/backwards/twice, they can get STIs or possibly pregnant. 25% of vaginal sex involves using a condom, with 33% use in single people, and for the sake of teens that number should be much higher.

10/27/14

Today was my Aunt's last day in Ohio, she flies out around 7 AM tomorrow morning. I'm gonna miss her, but hopefully I'll see her again soon. Tomorrow marks exactly one day until Election Day. Everybody's fingers are crossed, and even though I am incredibly confident that my dad will win his race, I can't help but get butterflies in my stomach just thinking about  it...

Sunday, October 26, 2014

Goodnight!!!!!

10/26/14

Today was a lot of fun! Boyhood was just as spectacular the second time around. My aunt and I ended up being an hour late to dinner, but nobody was really bothered by it. I did learn something kinda depressing though. My grandpa's health is deteriorating faster and faster. He's relying on an oxygen tank at night now, and my aunt and grandma want to convince him to start using it full-time. It's just sad seeing him having so much trouble even breathing.
I think I'm going to start watching American Horror Story today. I've been curious about it for a long time, plus I'm done with all my homework so there's no reason why I shouldn't. Well, maybe I should finish with The IT Crowd first... All I know is that I'm about to binge-watch SOMETHING before I go to the movies with my aunt!

Saturday, October 25, 2014

Goodnight!

I just went through all of my old baby photos and some of them are priceless oh my god

I just got back from dinner with my Dad, sister, aunt, and grandparents. I had some really good spaghetti. Tomorrow, my aunt and I are going to head to the little art house theater in Akron and see Boyhood together. I've already seen Boyhood, but it's so phenomenal that I'm dying to see it again! I'm really excited. I never get to see my aunt since she lives thousands of miles away, but we get along so well since we're both into artsy things, nature, food, feminism, all sorts of fun stuff. It'll be a fun time.
I'm actually a little excited to go to Chicago. I mean, it's the home of Kanye, there's a really yummy breakfast place there, and there's a lot of shopping so really I can't complain. I mean, I'm gonna miss seeing Andy and hanging out with my other friends, but I'll still have some fun there.
My mom and I just set up the final details for our Chicago trip next weekend. We're staying in the Sofitel hotel and DAAAAYUM it's nice...

10/25/14

Today has been pretty uneventful, just like most of my days. I had a two hour nap, did door-to-door walking for my dad, and got a flu shot. Not really anything to phone home about. In all honesty I could probably sleep for another several hours.

Friday, October 24, 2014

Goodnight!

10/24/14

Today was a pretty fun day! School was whatever, but we had a really fun lab in AP Bio where I gave everyone "syphilis" which was quite an experience. Tonight I was at my school's football game. We were so so close to winning, but unfortunately we didn't. Literally every single game I've been at, we've lost! I feel like I'm a jinx for them. The student section was pretty weak tonight, which was also unfortunate because a friend of mine who owns his own DJ-ing company brought out these fog blasting cannons and they just didn't have the rest of the student section giving them the hype they deserved. I still had a lot of fun nonetheless.

Afterward, Dylan took me to Swenson's, a delicious drive-in burger joint and then took me home. We had a lot of fun, and it's easy to say that he's my best "just friend," or at least my best guy friend. Andy beats all in terms of being my best friend, but Dyl is in a close second in the friendship realm. All in all, it was a wonderful night.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

Goodnight!

I finished the CDs, so I decided to burn a few copies of it for me and then my roommates from over the summer. I miss them a lot, so it'll be nice to send them something in the mail! And I also got through Graduation today. Kanye is really a fantastic artist, and it's a real shame that so many people only focus on his ego and his eccentricities instead of his talent and artistic vision. I'd honestly love to meet Kanye West, I feel like there's a lot I could learn from him in terms of self-confidence; if everybody loved themselves as much as Kanye loves Kanye, the world would be a much more confidant place.

10/23/14

Today was pretty uneventful. I'm feeling a little less awful, but I have a really bad headache and I just want to cuddle Andy and sleep for a long time. I still have to finish my math homework. 

Things did pick up a little bit towards the end of the day. The girl I tutor, Jasmine, is absolutely wonderful. She's sweet, kind, conscientious, and very clever. She's going to give the world a run for its money when she's older, I guarantee it. I also completely forgot that my aunt from California was flying back to Ohio to visit! I only just got home from dinner with her. 

Now I just have to get through my math, burn Abby's CD, and then get some sleep.